Jayapal Joins Pocan As Co-Chair of Congressional Progressive Caucus

Ro Khanna replaces Jayapal as the caucus’s first vice chair

Rep. Pramila Jayapal, D-Wash., will co-chair the Congressional Progressive Caucus with Rep. Mark Pocan, D-Wis. (Tom Williams/CQ Roll Call)

Washington Rep. Pramila Jayapal and Wisconsin Rep. Mark Pocan will serve as co-chairs of the Congressional Progressive Caucus for the 116th Congress.

The CPC — which will have more than 90 members next year — held its leadership elections Thursday, which also saw California Rep. Ro Khanna chosen to replace Jayapal as first vice chair. 

Minnesota Rep.-elect Ilhan Omar was elected CPC whip.

Pocan currently co-chairs the CPC with Arizona Rep. Raúl M. Grijalva, who is stepping down from caucus leadership because he will take over as House Natural Resources chairman next year. 

“The American people sent a Blue Wave — powered by progressives — to Capitol Hill and we fully intend to respect the electorate’s decision by presenting a bold, forward-looking agenda,” Pocan said in a statement.

Jayapal said in her own statement that the progressive movement is as strong as ever, and she looks forward to the CPC leveraging that “to deliver policies that benefit a diverse, inclusive and just America.”

The CPC also elected a slate of vice chairswho serve in various liaison roles to other Democratic factions:

Also Watch: Veronica Escobar Wants the Firsts Out of the Way and to Get Busy Crafting Humane Immigration Bills

Get breaking news alerts and more from Roll Call on your iPhone or your Android.