Advocacy Group Targets 29 Republicans Ahead of Health Care Vote

American Action Network is making a final six-figure push in support of AHCA

American Action Network’s latest digital campaign targets Florida Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, who has come out against leadership’s health care plan. (Bill Clark/CQ Roll Call File Photo)

An advocacy group with close ties to House leadership is launching a final push to pressure 29 Republicans to support the GOP health care plan ahead of an expected vote later this week.

Some of those lawmakers have indicated they won’s support the bill.

The six-figure digital campaign comes from American Action Network, the issue advocacy organization that has already spent more than $10 million in 75 congressional districts in support of Republicans’ plan to repeal and replace the 2010 health care law.

“As conservatives, this is the moment we have been fighting for over the past eight years. It’s time to pass President Trump and Speaker Ryan’s conservative health care plan that will provide access to quality, affordable health care for all,” AAN executive director Corry Bliss said in a statement.

“This final push urges constituents to call on their member of Congress to support the American Health Care Act and deliver on their promise of better coverage and more choices at lower costs,” Bliss added.

This latest advertising campaign from AAN focuses on lawmakers in districts Democrats are targeting in 2018.

On AAN’s list:

Arizona Rep. Martha McSally, California Reps. Jeff Denham, David Valadao, Steve Knight, Dana Rohrabacher, Ed Royce, Mimi Walters and Darrell Issa, Colorado Rep. Mike Coffman, Florida Reps. Carlos Curbelo and Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, Illinois Rep. Peter Roskam, Iowa Reps. David Young and Rod Blum, Minnesota Rep. Erik Paulsen, Nebraska Rep. Don Bacon, New Jersey Rep. Leonard Lance, Pennsylvania Reps. Ryan Costello, Pat Meehan and Brian Fitzpatrick, Texas Reps. John Culberson, Will Hurd and Pete Sessions, Virginia Rep. Barbara Comstock and Washington Rep. Dave Reichert.

Issa, Lance, and Ros-Lehtinen are among the GOP lawmakers who have expressed skepticism about leadership’s health care plan or have signaled they won’t vote it.

AAN is also targeting several members of leadership, including Speaker Paul D. Ryan, Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy, Ways and Means Committee Chairman Kevin Brady and Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Greg Walden.

AAN has previously gone after conservative opponents of leadership’s plan in the Freedom and Liberty Caucuses.

Get breaking news alerts and more from Roll Call on your iPhone or your Android.